2020 Webinar – June 3

Pandemic Anxiety: Supporting the Wellbeing of Students & Advisors

In this webinar, advisors will learn practical strategies for supporting post-secondary students during COVID-19.  A trauma-informed lens will be used to equip advisors to better support students and others who experience anxiety.  This session will also teach self-care principles, with an emphasis on identifying and addressing compassion fatigue, vicarious trauma, and burn out.

June 3rd, 2020 from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
2 hour live webinar to be followed by 1 hour Zoom networking opportunity

  • Register by June 1st. Limited space. First come, first served
  • Participation link will be sent to participants prior to the session

Presented by: Cara Taylor, BSW, RSW

Cara Taylor is a mental health educator based out of Saskatoon. She facilitates and develops mental health trainings, workshops and resources for organizations across Saskatchewan. She has worked as a social worker in inpatient psychiatry, on a mental health crisis response team, and run a non-profit dedicated to reducing the stigma of mental illness. Her undergraduate and graduate studies have focused on mental health in the fields of social work and counselling psychology.

Her work has also been profoundly shaped by her own experience of mental illness and suicide loss. All in all, she seeks to cultivate understanding, awareness, and compassion for mental health struggles in ourselves and others. Visit Cara’s website for more information:


Cost: FREE for current AASK Members
$20.00 for non-members


Your provincial post-secondary
advising community


The Advising Association of Saskatchewan (AASK) serves the post-secondary academic and student advising community through professional education and networking activities.

Who We Are

The Advising Association of Saskatchewan is an organization of academic and other student advisors from post-secondary institutions in Saskatchewan.  We are volunteer run.

AASK Steering Committee

President: Amanda Noubarian

Treasurer: Carolyn Tran

Secretary: Shelley Beuckert

Professional Development Coordinator: VACANT

Communications Director: Richard Medernach

Members At Large: Nicole Glas, Brandy Wicks, Angela Hounjet

Elections for Steering Committee positions occur at the biennial conference. Volunteers can be appointed by the Steering Committee during the intervening period.



If you have questions or comments for the Advising Association of Saskatchewan, you can reach us at


c/o Richard Medernach
1437 College Drive
Saskatoon, SK
S7N 0W6


Saskatchewan Post-Secondary Institutions’ Advising Contacts

Other institutions coming soon. Submit listings to aask@skadvisors.ca


Become a member of your provincial advising community.

Membership in the Advising Association of Saskatchewan is open to academic advisors and other student affairs professionals who advise students at the post-secondary level. 

Cost: $100.00  for two years.
Membership interval: May 1st 2019 through April 30th 2021.

Membership Benefits

  • Reduced rate at biennial conference
  • Monthly advising or student affairs articles delivered to your inbox
  • Facilitated webinar discussions
  • A professional development event in non-conference years

We accept three payment methods:

  1. Credit card or PayPal account
  2. By e-transfer to treasurer@skadvisors.ca
  3. Cheques are not being accepted during the COVID pandemic